Cannes, holiday city

The European capital of cinema chosen for its excellence welcomes and invites you to discover every nook and cranny of wonder hidden in the French Riviera.

The name of this city comes from Ligurian canoa, which means height or peak, because the old part of the city of Cannes scales the heights of a hill, built on top of an old fishing refuge. Although it is considered a large city (with 70,000 inhabitants), beginning in spring its population starts to notably increase, not only because of the rise in tourism but also because of the arrival of those that have a summer house in Cannes.

The Film Festival and the Promenade de la Croisette

The Film Festival - Cannes

During the month of May the International Film Festival takes place and the city fills with Hollywood stars, the media and tourists eager to get a photo of their idols. The red carpet is laid in the Palais des Festivals, an impressive building located on the Boulevard de la Croisette. From Hotel Balladins Cannes Le Cannet, situated in the neighbouring town of Le Cannet (which could be practically considered the suburbs of Cannes), you can comfortably access this boulevard, just 2 kilometres away.

This seafront bordered by majestic palaces is a centre of life with all types of businesses and restaurants and entertainment; it is next to the beautiful Cannes Bay, famous for its turquoise waters and sought-after fine sands. You will also find several shops and boutiques on Rue d’Antibes, parallel to the Promenade de la Croisette.

Charming towns

Charming towns

The glamour of la Croisette is just one part of its attraction. Go home with the Palme d’Or for the best visitor and delve into the most seductive towns. Start at Cannes-la-Bocca, situated to the west next to the sea; this town still conserves a certain air of Provence and the sea, with a market and a boulodrome included (don’t forget that boules is a very popular sport in the region).

Continue in the town of Le Suquet, in the old quarters of the city, where you can admire the Notre Dame de Bon Voyage Cathedral, the Saracen tower of Suquet and the Notre Dame de l’Espérance Church. The city has important garden villas that well deserve a visit, like Villa Domergue, Romée or Rothschild.

On the other hand, a must see are the Lérins Islands, which are considered the birthplace of Cannes along with Suquet which have two main islands with their islets: Sainte Marguerite Island, which is bigger and famous for its royal fort where the man in the iron mask was imprisoned, and Saint Honorat, the smaller island, popular for its abbey of Cistercian monks. To get to these islands, you can take a boat from the port.

Culture, entertainment and cuisine

Cannes

The most important museums are the La Castre Museum, the La Mer Museum, the Espace Miramar Performace Hall and the Malmaison Castle. For the games lovers, Cannes has three casinos: Palm Beach Casino, La Croisette Casino and Les Princes Casino. Not surprisingly, the city has many cinemas.

Antibes seaside resort, known for its prestige, is less than 10 kilometres to the east. You can also take part in nautical sports, for example diving, due to the bay’s seabed in this area being rich in flora and fauna.

If you like markets don’t miss the Forville Market to try typical Provence products and the popular Pastis liqueur.

Excursions

Apart from being close to Cannes, one of the attractions of Hotel Balladins Cannes Le Cannet is that it offers a thousand options to the visitor, with many tourist attractions at a relatively short distance: Grasse, Saint-Paul-de-Vence, Monaco, Saint-Tropez or Nice can make your trip in the French Riviera one of your best memories.

Cannes, la ville des vacances

La capitale européenne du cinéma par excellence vous souhaite la bienvenue et vous invite à découvrir tous les lieux de rêve que cache la Côte d’Azur.

Le nom de cette ville vient du ligurien (patois italien) « canoa », ce qui signifie « hauteur » ou « pointe », puisque la vieille ville de Cannes est perchée au sommet d’une colline et est construite sur un ancien refuge de pêcheurs. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas considérée comme une grande ville (elle compte environ 70.000 habitants), au printemps sa population se multiplie ; non seulement par l’augmentation du tourisme, mais aussi par l’arrivée de ceux qui possèdent à Cannes une résidence d’été.

Le Festival du Cinéma et la Croisette

Le Festival du Cinéma - Cannes

Au mois de Mai se tient le Festival International du Cinéma, autrement dit le Festival de Cannes, et la ville se remplit alors des stars de Hollywood, du monde des médias et de la communication, ainsi que des touristes enthousiastes à l’idée de prendre une photo de leurs idoles. Le tapis rouge s’étend devant le Palais des Festivals, un édifice imposant sur le Boulevard de la Croisette. Depuis l’hôtel Balladins Cannes Le Cannet, situé dans la commune voisine Le Cannet (qui est presque considérée comme une extension de Cannes), vous pourrez facilement accéder à ce boulevard, situé à moins de 2 km.

Cette promenade sur la côte, bordée de palais majestueux est très animée par toutes sortes de boutiques, de restaurants et de lieux de loisirs ; cet endroit longe la magnifique baie de Cannes, célèbre pour ses eaux turquoises et ses plages de sable fin. Vous trouverez également de nombreux magasins et boutiques dans la rue d’Antibes, parallèle à la Croisette.

Un quartier envoûtant

Un quartier envoûtant

Car le glamour de la Croisette n’est qu’une partie du charme de la ville.

Gagnez la Palme d’Or du meilleur visiteur et plongez dans les quartiers les plus séduisants. Commencez par Cannes-la-Bocca situé à l’ouest et au bord de la mer; ce quartier conserve encore un air Provençal et maritime, avec ses marchés et même ses boulodromes, pour s’entraîner à la pétanque (rappelez-vous que la pétanque est un sport très populaire dans la région).

Continuez avec le quartier du Suquet, dans la Vieille Ville, où vous pourrez admirer la Cathédrale de Notre-Dame de Bon Voyage, la Tour sarrasine du Suquet et l’Eglise Notre-Dame d’Espérance. La ville possède d’importantes villas avec jardins qui méritent bien un petit détour, comme les villas Domergue, Romée ou Rotshild.

Aussi, ne manquez pas les Iles de Lérins, considérées comme le berceau de Cannes avec le Suquet, et composées de deux îles principales et d’ilots. L’Ile Sainte Marguerite, la plus grande des deux, est célèbre pour son fort royal où aurait été emprisonné l’homme au masque de fer ; et l’île Saint Honoré, plus petite, célèbre pour son monastère cistercien. Pour y parvenir, vous pourrez prendre le bateau au port de Cannes.

Culture, loisirs et gastronomie

Cannes

Les musées les plus importants sont le musée de La Castre, le Musée de la Mer, l’espace Miramar et la Malmaison. Pour les amateurs de jeux, Cannes dispose de trois casinos: le Palm Beach, le casino de la Croisette et le casino Les Princes. Bien-sûr, la ville propose de nombreuses salles de cinéma.

Le centre balnéaire d’Antibes, au prestige reconnu, se trouve à moins de 10 km à l’Est. Aussi, vous pourrez pratiquer des sports nautiques, tels que la plongée sous-marine, puisque les fonds marins de la baie dans cette zone ont une faune et une flore très riches.

Si vous aimez les marchés, ne ratez pas le marché de Forville pour déguster des produits typiques de la Provence et goûter le célèbre Pastis.

Excursions

Outre sa proximité avec Cannes, un des atouts de l’hôtel Balladins Cannes Le Cannet, c’est qu’il offre mille options à ses visiteurs, puisqu’il existe de nombreuses activités touristiques dans les alentours relativement proches de l’hôtel : Grasse, Saint-Paul-de-Vence, Monaco, Saint-Tropez ou Nice peuvent faire de votre voyage sur la Riviera française un de vos meilleurs souvenirs.